Daisy, Daisy

I’ve been dying to make pretty layer cakes for ages, and when I finally let myself do it I ended up making two in as many weeks! Of course I made the chocolate cake featured in my previous post, but before that I also made this beauty:

IMG_3907

A lemon sponge, filled with lemon curd and covered with lemon buttercream. I tried to make is taste as lemony as possible, so I added in extra zest, juice, and lemon extract.

IMG_3916

I had been putting off making layer cakes, as there are just not enough people around and I would probably end up either eating the majority of it myself, or wasting it, neither of which I wanted to do. I found the solution when I popped into Lakeland and found they were having a 40% off bakeware sale! I treated myself to some 6-inch tins. This meant I could stack the cake high, while only using a 3-egg sponge mix.

IMG_3903

This was my first attempt at properly icing a cake, and I think I did pretty well! I’m proud of it anyway, it was certainly the prettiest cake I’ve ever made.

If you are thinking of trying something like this, I found these videos a great help.

Leave a Reply

